The History of Team 223

Team 223 was founded in 1999 by Wayne Kelly, Cliff Tanslick, and Don Kactslis to allow students from New Brunswick High School to compete in the FIRST Robotics Competition. A lot of hard work and 250+ hours later, Team 223 created our first robot. We have gone through many years of changes, but we still continue to strive to be the best we can be.

1999 - awarded “Rookie Team of the Year”

went to the National Competition at Epcot in Disney World

2000 - the Piscataway branch of Middlesex County Vocational and Technical Schools joined the team

the team name is named the "Zaiders"

2002 - Name officially changed to Xtreme Heat

2005 - New Brunswick High School was unable to continue with the program

won a non-FIRST competition and made it to semi-finals at the New Jersey Regional competition, the Virginia Regional competition, and to Nationals.

2007 - Lakeland Regional High School joined Team 223.

came in second place overall at the New Jersey Regional competition

made it to the semi-finals at Nationals in Atlanta

 2010 - MCTVS-Piscataway High School left Team 223 leaving Lakeland Regional High School to pick up the pieces.

2012 – Qualified for the first ever MAR District Championship at Lehigh University in Pennsylvania.

won the FIRST Dean’s List Award (Steven Donow)

received the Imagery Award in honor of Jack Kamen

2014 - Won the Creativity Award sponsored by Xerox as well as the MAR Championship Rockwell Innovation in Control Award and

2015 - Finalists at the Seneca District Event.

2016 – Won a Blue Banner at the Bridgewater District Event     

2017 – Received two Innovation and Control award as well as a District Event Finalist at the Montgomery District Event

Created the Michael Storm Fischer Memorial Scholarship for an alumni who unfortunately passed away very young.

2018 – District event finalist at  Mount Olive & received the Creativity Award at Seneca

2019 – Won the Spirit Award sponsored by FCA Foundation at Montgomery District Event

Dean’s List Finalist (Jake Weirer)

Selected by 2nd alliance in the Daly Division at the FIRST Championship - Detroit

2021 – Selected as Semi-Finalists for the FIRST Innovation Challenge – 95 total teams were selected out of over 2000 teams.

2022 – Won the Industrial Design Award sponsored by General Motors at both the Mount Olive and the Montgomery District Events.

Qualified for FMA District Championships every year since 2012 inception.